On my grind

Hey, hey, hey. Today is Thursday and for the past few days, I’ve literally been writing essays and papers nonstop. Ugh, time to debrief! I don’t know why I do that to myself; I take five, six, and sometimes, seven classes because I love the feeling of being preoccupied, so busy that I don’t even have time to self-reflect. But, this semester, I decided to take it easy. I’m taking only five classes and I’m really enjoying all of them. Yes, there are million pages of reading nearly every night, but they’re always on interesting topics like politics of fertility in Israel or Michael Pollan’s views on factory farming in rural Kansas. I feel challenged and excited despite not knowing exactly what career path I would like to follow. I’ve met professors who have reassured me that it’s okay to not know, so I’m taking their word for it. Maybe, in a few months or a few years, I’ll figure it all out. I’ll draw out a perfect plan for how my life should unfold, but really, all I want right now is time to appreciate how far I’ve come as a person. No, I’m not the nicest nor the smartest nor the most successful person in the world, but I’ve never forced myself to be accountable for those goals, so I don’t necessarily have to “reach for the stars.” I’ll miss my mark in a thousand ways and I’ll figure out that the sky is not the limit, then I’ll try and reach for the stars.

Leave a Reply

