Find Me Some Serendipity

“Congratulations! It is with great pleasure that I inform you…” were the very first words of my acceptance letter to Dartmouth. Exciting, thrilling, humbling, mind-blowing I know, but for some reason, after my impromptu visit to campus today, I can’t help but also feel incredibly nervous and scared. New state, new campus, new college, new curriculum, new professors, new friends, new everything. No one ever teaches you how to make friends anymore; it’s rhetorical and completely unnecessary, it’s supposed to be all about going-with-the-flow, so where should I begin? I know, it was my decision to start fresh, so it only makes sense that I’m held accountable for my decisions, but no one ever said I had to be 100% confident about my whole life, right? What scares me the most is that I have to get to know an entirely new breed of people; I don’t know anything about Ivy League kids stereotypes, and quite frankly, I’m not sure if I want to know them (I might simply fall prey to them). I have to know how to thrive at a prestigious institution flooded with indomitable students of the 21st century. Yes, of course I’m excited and I’m incredibly humbled by the acceptance, but the more often a take a longer peek at my acceptance letter, I can’t help but feel that there is a possibility I may not belong. Not here nor there. It’s my responsibility to find my own niche (singular or not) and thrive, prosper, and hopefully I’ll find me some serendipity.

Leave a Reply

